Mathias Spahlinger

Neil Thomas Smith

Mathias Spahlinger

Neil Thomas Smith

Distributed for Intellect Ltd

Edited by Martin Iddon
208 pages | 40 halftones | 6 3/4 x 9 1/2
Cloth $106.50 ISBN: 9781789383348 Published April 2021 For sale in North and South America, Australia, and New Zealand only

One of the most stimulating and provocative figures of the new music scene, Mathias Spahlinger has long been a touchstone for leftist, “critical” composition in Germany, yet his work has received very little attention in Anglophone scholarship until now. 

Spahlinger’s practice offers a unique negotiation of the modernist legacy as well as passionate political and philosophical engagement. Born in 1944, today his position as one of the most venerable exponents of post-WWII modernism in his homeland is undeniable: his music is regularly performed, he has received commissions from many of the major orchestras and new music groups in Germany, and in 2014 he received the Berliner Kunstpreis, Berlin’s top art prize. 

Bringing a critical perspective to Spahlinger’s life and work, this monograph provides an essential reference for scholars of new music and twentieth-century modernism.



Part 1

  1. Modernism Underestimated
  2. Biography and Context: Spahlinger and Twentieth-Century Germany

Part 2

  1. Musique Concrète Instrumentale
  2. Order
  3. Open Form
  4. Perception


Mathias Spahlinger: List of Works

For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from Intellect Ltd. RSS Feed