Skip to main content

Distributed for Center for the Study of Language and Information

Fantasia Apocalyptica Illustrated

Artist Duane R. Bibby brings Donald E. Knuth’s computer-assisted musical “translation” of the biblical Book of Revelation to life in this illustrated edition of Knuth’s multimedia work for pipe organ and video, Fantasia Apocalytica. Each of Bibby’s hand-painted illustrations captures an associated passage from Revelation, providing not only a vibrant and captivating complement to Knuth’s music, but also to the mysticism and drama of the Bible. Fantasia Apocalyptica Illustrated is a marvelous addition to the collection of any bibliophile or contemporary music aficionado.

264 pages | 9 x 9 | © 2018

Art: Art--General Studies

Music: General Music


“One of the most curious books I have ever seen. . . . Fantasia Apocalyptica Illustrated is a doorway into a complex and edgy cultural realm. While the book doesn’t present the entire creative experience of the Knuth/Bibby pairing, it does offer insight into what a complete performance might offer. If you’re intrigued by modern composition and an outside-the-box take on what can only be described as hallowed ground, this may well be worth your investigation. It is also your key to accessing the scores and creating an apocalypse of your very own. Recommended.”

Erik W. Goldstrom | Journal of the Association of Anglican Musicians

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Introduction to the dream
Chapter 2: Letters to Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira
Chapter 3: Letters to Sardis, Philadelphia, Laodicea
Chapter 4: The heavenly throne
Chapter 5: The scroll and the Lamb
Chapter 6: Four horsemen; open seals
Chapter 7: Saints marching in
Chapter 8: Four trumpets
Chapter 9: Trumpets and woes
Chapter 10: The sweet and sour little scroll
Chapter 11: Seventh trumpet; open temple
Chapter 12: The woman and the dragon
Chapter 13: The blasphemous beast; 666
Chapter 14: God's harvest
Chapter 15: Preparing seven plagues
Chapter 16: Bowls of wrath; Armageddon
Chapter 17: The prostitute
Chapter 18: Babylon is fallen
Chapter 19: Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
Chapter 20: The thousand years
Chapter 21: The new Jerusalem
Chapter 22: The coming Messiah

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press