Skip to main content

Colonial Wars, 1689-1762

Although the colonial wars consisted of almost continuous raids and skirmishes between the English and French colonists and their Indian allies and enemies, they can be separated into four major conflicts, corresponding to four European wars of which they were, in varying degrees, a part: King William’s War (1689-97) (War of the League of Augsburg); Queen Anne’s War (1702-13) (War of the Spanish Succession); King George’s War (1744-48) (War of the Austrian Succession); and The French and Indian War (1755-62) (Seven Years’ War).

Mr. Peckham chronicles the events of these wars, summarizing the struggle for empire in America among France, England, and Spain. He indicates how the colonists applied the experience they gained from fighting Indians to their engagements with European powers. And what they learned from the colonial wars they translated into a political philosophy that led to independence and self-government.

The ready involvement of the colonies in European ambitions, the success and failure of co-operation between colony and mother country, the efforts of the English colonies together, and the growing differences between them and Britain give the narrative continuity and rising excitement.

266 pages | 5.30 x 8.00 | © 1964

The Chicago History of American Civilization

History: American History

Table of Contents

I. European vs. Indians
II. Militia at the Frontiers: King William’s War
III. Attempts at Military Co-operation: Queen Anne’s War
IV. American Troops under British and American Officers
V. Militia and the Royal Navy: King George’s War
VI. French Militia vs. Virginia Militia
VII. British Regulars and American Militia
VIII. Royal Americans and Rangers
IX. Anglo-American Allies
X. Victory Removes an Antagonist
XI. The Aftermath
Important Dates
Suggested Readings

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press