Skip to main content

Distributed for Hirmer Publishers

Zoran Music

The Braglia Collection

Zoran Music (1909–2005) was a Slovenian painter and graphic artist. A survivor of the Holocaust, he is best known for “We Are Not the Last,” a series of paintings for which he drew on his experience as a prisoner at Dachau as a way to work through the terrible human tragedy. Music’s later work is characterized by intense concentration on just a few subjects: deeply shadowed portraits, stark landscapes of Dalmatia and Italy, and bright cityscapes depicting his adopted home city of Venice.

With sixty-eight works from the exceptional collection of Gabriele and Anna Braglia, Zoran Music: The Braglia Collection provides extremely informative insight into the Music’s unusual and moving body of work. Through the juxtaposition of these works, there emerges a common thread: the artist’s remarkable ability to evoke reflection on the human essence and condition. With a wealth of color illustrations and contributions by prominent art historians, artists, and critics, Zoran Music: The Braglia Collection will be welcomed by the many admirers and collectors of the work of this extraordinary artist.

192 pages | 147 color plates | 9 1/2 x 11 3/4

Art: European Art

Hirmer Publishers image

View all books from Hirmer Publishers

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press