Skip to main content

Distributed for Intellect Ltd

Invisible Country

Four Polish Plays

The late nineteenth and early twentieth century marked a tumultuous period in Poland’s history, with artists and writers working under difficult sociopolitical conditions. This book contains the first English- language translations of four plays by Polish writers in the modernist tradition: Snow by Stanislaw Przybyszewski, In a Small House by Tadeusz Rittner, Ashanti by Wlodzimierz Perzynski, and All the Same by Leopold Staff. Well-chosen and carefully annotated, these translations provide important insight into this underexplored area of Polish dramatic history and practice and facilitate greater understanding of its role in the development of European theater. Also included is a broad discussion of the characteristics of translation for the theater.

295 pages | 6 halftones | 7 x 9 | © 2012


Art: Art--General Studies

Intellect Ltd image

View all books from Intellect Ltd


“This collection marks a unique effort to characterize the fragile identity of Poland through theater. . . . Accompanied by photographs of each play in performance, Teresa Murjas’s interpretations affirm the essential role of the translator in modern theater.”

World Literature Today

“Murjas aims to achieve translations that stand at the intersection of linguistic and cultural faithfulness to the original with cultural accessibility for a twenty-first-century audience.”

Slavic and East European Journal

Table of Contents


Ashanti (1906)
In a Small House (1904)
Snow (1902)
All the Same (1912)

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press