Skip to main content

Distributed for University of Scranton Press

From Then Into Now

William Kennedy’s Albany Novels

From Then Into Now is the first study of William Kennedy’s famous Albany novels that provides both a close analysis of each novel and describes the integrated nature of the cycle of novels.

300 pages | 6 x 9 | © 1998

Literature and Literary Criticism: American and Canadian Literature

University of Scranton Press image

View all books from University of Scranton Press

Table of Contents

1. From Then Into Now: The Albany Cycle
2. Keeping Legs Alive: The Mythicization of Jack Diamond
3. The Presence of the Absence of Fathers in Billy Phelan’s Greatest Game
4. Existential Struggles in an Eschatological World: The Myth of Francis Phelan
5. The Arches of Love, The Banner of Blood: The Mysteries of Love and History in Quinn’s Book
6. Unearthing the Future of Phelans
7. Back Where He Started
8. The Albany Novels of the Albany Cycle
Appendix: Daniel Quinn’s Celtic Disk
Works Cited

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press