Skip to main content

Judge Dee at Work

Eight Chinese Detective Stories

The eight short stories in Judge Dee at Work cover a decade during which the judge served in four different provinces of the T’ang Empire. From the suspected treason of a general in the Chinese army to the murder of a lonely poet in his garden pavilion, the cases here are among the most memorable in the Judge Dee series.

184 pages | 5 1/4 x 8 | © 1967



“Judge Dee belongs in that select group of fictional detectives headed by the renowned Sherlock Holmes. I assure you it is a compliment not given frivolously.”

Robert Kirsch | Los Angeles Times

Table of Contents

1. Five Auspicious Clouds
2. The Red Tape Murder
3. He Came with the Rain
4. The Murder on the Lotus Pond
5. The Two Beggars
6. The Wrong Sword
7. The Coffins of the Emperor
8. Murder on New Year’s Eve
Judge Dee Chronology

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press