Skip to main content

Aristotle and the Secrets of Life

An Aristotle Detective Novel

Murder and mayhem may seem like unreasonable company for Aristotle, one of the founding minds of Western philosophy. But in the skilled hands of Margaret Doody, the pairing could not be more logical. With her Aristotle Detective novels, Margaret Doody brings a Holmesian hero to the bloodied streets of ancient Greece, trading the pipe and deerstalker of Sherlock for the woolen chiton and sandals of Aristotle. Replete with suspense, historical detail, and humor, and complemented by an ever-growing cast of characters and vivid descriptions of the ancient world, Doody’s mysteries are as much lively takes on the figures and forms of the classics as they are classic whodunits in their own right.

With Aristotle and the Secrets of Life, tensions between the Athenians and the Makedonians—followers of another of Aristotle’s former students, Alexander the Great—draw our heroes across the Aegean Sea. Even as Aristotle and Stephanos escape from pirates, uncover conspiracy, and face the horrors of war, Aristotle finds time to discuss his studies of the natural world in this gripping tale of their quest into darkness.   

432 pages | 1 map | 5 1/2 x 8 1/2 | © 2014



“Witty, elegant whodunits. . . . With Aristotle and the Secrets of Life, Margaret Doody launches her characters into more troubled, and troubling, waters. Deftly weaving together known or likely facts of Aristotle’s biography, from different periods of his life, this time she projects the philosopher himself as the main character of the adventure. . . . There are powerful and sinister forces at work in Athens.”

Roderick Beaton | Times Literary Supplement

“Eminently enjoyable.”

Colin Dexter | author of the Inspector Morse mysteries

“Why did no one think of this before?”

Times (UK)

Aristotle and the Secrets of Life delves more deeply into Aristotle’s philosophy and provides a more intricate look at his school and studies. This book is filled with much more political intrigue and gives a clearer look at the aftermath of Alexander the Great’s conquest. . . . Much darker and more intricate.”

Natalie Kelley-Wilson | Metapsychology Online Reviews

Table of Contents

List of Characters
Part I: Parts of Animals
I           The Sanctuary of Asklepios
II         Murdering an Ox
III        Meeting a Monkey
IV        Sweetness and Bees
V         Odour of Blood
VI        Parts of Animals
VII      The Monument
Part II: Movement of Animals
VIII     Preparing for Flight
IX        Taking Ship for the Islands
X         Delos
XI        Blood at Delos, Flesh at Mykonos
XII      Naxos
XIII     Storm at Sea
XIV     The Healing Island
Part III: Body and Soul
XV      The Doctors
XVI     Facing Asia
XVII   The Letter
XVIII  Harpalos the Treasurer
XIX     Carrying Treasure
XX      The Killing Island
XXI     Escape
XXII   Healing and Light

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press