Paper $22.95 ISBN: 9781512600971 Published November 2017
An e-book edition will be published.

Emerald Labyrinth

A Scientist’s Adventures in the Jungles of the Congo

Eli Greenbaum

Emerald Labyrinth

Eli Greenbaum

Distributed for University Press of New England

336 pages | 6 x 9
Paper $22.95 ISBN: 9781512600971 Published November 2017
E-book $14.99 ISBN: 9781512601206 Published November 2017
Emerald Labyrinth is a scientist and adventurer’s chronicle of years exploring the rainforests of sub-Saharan Africa. The richly varied habitats of the Democratic Republic of the Congo offer a wealth of animal, plant, chemical, and medical discoveries. But the country also has a deeply troubled colonial past and a complicated political present. Author Eli Greenbaum is a leading expert in sub-Saharan herpetology—snakes, lizards, and frogs—who brings a sense of wonder to the question of how science works in the twenty-first century. Along the way he comes face to face with spitting cobras, silverback mountain gorillas, wild elephants, and the teenaged armies of AK-47-toting fighters engaged in the continent’s longest-running war. As a bellwether of the climate and biodiversity crises now facing the planet, the Congo holds the key to our planet’s future. Writing in the tradition of books like The Lost City of Z, Greenbaum seeks out the creatures struggling to survive in a war-torn, environmentally threatened country. Emerald Labyrinth is an extraordinary book about the enormous challenges and hard-won satisfactions of doing science in one of the least known, least hospitable places on earth.
Contents
Preface • List of Abbreviations • A Note regarding Provinces • No Joy in the Brilliance of Sunshine • King Kong of Kahuzi Volcano • The Wrong Place at the Wrong Time • The Rats of Miki • A Vampire in Virunga • Wandege’s Eye • The Murderer of Mugegema • Congolization • This Man Is Not Right in the Head • Frogs in Elephant Footprints • The Death of Asukulu • Acknowledgments • Congolese Swahili Glossary • How Can I Help? • Notes • References • Index
For more information, or to order this book, please visit https://press.uchicago.edu
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from University Press of New England. RSS Feed