Skip to main content

Shadow of the Hunter

Shadow of the Hunter is a collection of stories based upon Richard Nelson’s experiences in an Eskimo village of the Tareogmiut, or "people of the sea." The stories follow a group of hunters and their families through the cycle of an arctic year. Each chapter takes the reader into a different realm of the Eskimo world—from the quiet moments of families in far-flung camps to the intensity and passion of the hunt; from the times of fear and danger to those of security, triumph, and celebration.

296 pages | 6.00 x 8.40 | © 1980

Anthropology: Cultural and Social Anthropology

Native American Studies

Table of Contents

Moon of the Returning Sun (January)
The Moon for Bleaching Skins (March)
The Moon When Whaling Begins (April)
The Moon When Rivers Flow (May)
The Moon When Animals Give Birth (June)
The Moon When Birds Raise Their Young (July)
The Moon When Birds Molt (August)
The Moon When Birds Fly South (September)
Moon of the Setting Sun (November)
The Moon with No Sun (December)
Appendix: The Setting

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press