Skip to main content

The Chain

After One and Waking established Tom Sleigh as one of the most original and accomplished poets in contemporary America. In The Chain, Sleigh explores the nature of memory—its uncanny ability to recast events in contradictory ways as it links individual lives to history. The poet reveals the ways in which the individual consciousness, alternately resisting and embracing its ancestral legacy, seeks to transform, in order to comprehend, the meaning of cultural inheritance. In a series of elegies, portraits, and love poems, he movingly dramatizes the ambiguous nature of truth and the difficulties the moral imagination must overcome in recalling, understanding, and judging the past. The publication of The Chain confirms Tom Sleigh’s place among the most imaginative, unpredictable, and formally sophisticated poets of his generation.

"Tom Sleigh’s precision marks him as the diamond cutter of poetry; his verse has a tense musicality, and his ability to convey exact emotions, even the state of consciousness itself, is unerring."—The New York Times Book Review, Notable Books of the Year, 1990-1991

104 pages | 6-1/4 x 8-1/2 | © 1996

Phoenix Poets


Table of Contents

Lamentation on Ur
The Word
The Tank
Child’s Drawing: "Boy Holding a Ball at a Funeral"
In the Park
The Safety of Sunday
Under the Mountain
The Line
Crossing the Border
The Denial
The Appointment
The Death Radio
Great Island
The Dolphin’s Dream
For a Young Painter
The Octopus
The Library
A Western
The Perspective
Some Larger Motion
The Canoe
The Climb
The Distance Between
The Web
The Work
The Souls


Academy of American Poets: Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press