Zapolska's Women

Three Plays: Malka Szwarcenkopf, The Man, and Miss Maliczewska

Gabriela Zapolska

Gabriela Zapolska

Distributed for Intellect Ltd

Edited by Teresa Murjas
192 pages | 14 halftones | 7 x 9 | © 2009
Paper $28.50 ISBN: 9781841502366 Published October 2009

Gabriela Zapolska (1857–1921) was one of the foremost modernist Polish playwrights. Zapolska’s Women features three of her performance texts that focus on the economic and social pressures faced by women in partitioned Poland at the end of the eighteenth century. In addition to the plays, Zapolska’s Women provides a detailed biography of Zapolska, relating her life story to the themes of each play; an analysis of her significance within Polish and European literary and theatrical traditions; and background on the social and historical conditions within Poland during the time the plays were written and originally performed. This informative collection of groundbreaking plays will introduce an English-speaking audience to Zapolska’s important work.


‘To You, it is Light – To Me, Darkness’
Malka Szwarcenkopf (1897)
A Play In Five Acts

‘Condemned to Desired what we Cannot Possess’
The Man (1901)
A Play In Three Acts

‘Sister or Servant’
Miss Maliczewska (1910)
A Contemporary Drama


For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style |

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from Intellect Ltd. RSS Feed