Skip to main content

Distributed for University of Scranton Press

The South Street Gang vs. the Coalcracker Cyclops

When Bob Capek’s mother is killed in a hit-and-run accident in 1956, his father moves the family from Virginia back to his hometown of Mauch Chunk, a small town in the middle of the eastern Pennsylvania anthracite coal region. From the moment Bob boards the northbound train, the life he knew before comes to an end—and another, more harrowing one begins. Soon after arriving in Mauch Chunk, Bob is threatened by a notorious cross-town gang, the Center Street Scorpions. As if that’s not enough, Bob also initiates a dangerous game of cat-and-mouse with the cruelest, most diabolical man in town, the Cyclops—a greedy mine owner who will stop at nothing, including murder, to own every coal mine in the county. But Bob is determined to put a stop to the Cyclops’s sinister schemes—and the results are explosive.

From the author of Jim Thorpe Never Slept Here and Leap of Faith, The South Street Gang vs. the Coalcracker Cyclops is an exciting tale that brings the powers of good and evil to the streets of small-town America.

151 pages | 6 x 9 | © 2010


University of Scranton Press image

View all books from University of Scranton Press

Table of Contents

Chapter 1    Derailed!
Chapter 2    Treed
Chapter 3    The Mansion
Chapter 4    The Bandana
Chapter 5    After the Rains
Chapter 6    The Stalker
Chapter 7    The Leavetaking
Chapter 8    The Underworld

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press