Ruprecht von Kaufmann


Edited by Christian Ehrentraut and Rupert Pfab

Ruprecht von Kaufmann

Edited by Christian Ehrentraut and Rupert Pfab

Distributed for Hirmer Publishers

176 pages | 124 color plates | 11 4/5 x 10 | © 2011
Cloth $39.95 ISBN: 9783777437118 Published March 2012 For sale in Canada, Mexico, and the USA only

This book brings together for the first time three of Ruprecht von Kaufmann’s most recent series of artworks: Fog, a sequence of six large-scale paintings that depict the movements of life, from childhood to battle scenes; Medea, a reinterpretation of the great heroic figures of antiquity; and Equator, an ambitious, room-filling sequence of black-and-white installations featuring archetypal antiheroes against labyrinthine landscapes. Drawing on memory sequences and themes from literature and art history, Kaufmann’s work frequently juxtaposes light and shadow to suggest the struggle between good and evil.
A native of Munich, Kaufmann has also lived and worked in both Los Angeles and New York and his paintings and drawings have been showcased in all three cities, among others, to great critical acclaim. With more than one hundred illustrations, this volume offers a look at his most recent series of works.

I Spy with My Little Eye Something You Don’t Want to See
      Nicola Graef

Paintings 2007
Paintings 2008
In the Realms of Reverie
      Mark Gisbourne
Paintings 2009
Half T
      Magdalena Kröner
Paintings 2010

Exhibitions, Awards, Catalogues, Selected Publications
Index of Works
Review Quotes
Berliner Zeitung

“After being evocatively drawn into the story of Kaufmann’s paintings, the viewer feels compelled to follow the plot chapter by chapter, as if reading a novel.”

For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from Hirmer Publishers. RSS Feed