Skip to main content

Distributed for Hong Kong University Press

Painting Myanmar’s Transition

Eighty paintings and reflections inspired by Myanmar’s political transition offer rare insights into a society struggling to reform.
In Painting Myanmar’s Transition, Ian Holliday and Aung Kaung Myat showcase work produced by eighty artists during a time of change. At the start of the 2010s, Myanmar embarked on a transition away from half a century of rigid military rule. A decade later, the country remains caught in a struggle for power.
To help bridge the divide between insider and outsider perspectives on the politics of Myanmar, this book reproduces paintings and interviews by local artists. Placed alongside each other, the eighty paintings and reflections offer rare insights into a society that for a decade had experienced a democratic interlude. Together, they conjure a set of nuanced understandings of an important Southeast Asian state navigating complex political change.

192 pages | 80 color images | 7 x 10

Art: Middle Eastern, African, and Asian Art

Political Science:

Hong Kong University Press image

View all books from Hong Kong University Press


"Thinking through Painting Myanmar’s Transition is a step towards making fuller sense of the fragmented field and country."

South East Asia Research

Table of Contents

1. Artists born in post-war and democratic Burma (before 1962)
Sein Myint – Aung Khaing – Aung Myint – San Minn – Myint Soe – MPP Ye Myint – Chan Aye – Nyo Win Maung – Htun Wei Myint – Han Tin Swe – Maung Myint Aung – Shine Lu – Ko Ko Naing – Zaw Win Pe – Ba Khine – Min Wae Aung – Yi Yi Khin – Soe Naing

2. Artists born under the Revolutionary Council (1962–1973)
Co Thiee – Thu Rein Myaing – Su Eaindra – Sue Htet Aung – Myint San Myint – Than Naing – Htein Lin – Win Tint – Satt Aung – Myo Nyunt Khin – Thet Tun – Khin Maung Zaw – Aung Soe Min – Kay Moe Ko – Sandar Khaing – Hein Thit – Min Zaw – Hla Pa – Zarni Ye Myint – Nay Aung Shu – Aung Myat Htay

3. Artists born under President Ne Win (1974–1981)
Khin Maung Win – Kyaw Yin – Tamalar – Htoo Aung Kyaw – Than Kyaw Htay – Aung Ko – Ko Naung – Saw Star – Zaw Min Thein – Mor Mor – Yan Naing Tun – Yan Naing Oo – Thit Nay San – Aung Kyi Soe – Aung Zaw – Khin Zaw Latt –
Hla Phone – Aung Ko – Saw Kyaw Zaw – Nan Da – Pyayt Phyo Aung – Pho Tun – Brang Li – Shwe Thein

4. Artists born during the decline and fall of Socialist Burma (after 1981)
Kaung Kyaw Khine – Saw Lin Aung – Dawei Lay – Pyay Way – Thadi Htar – Sitt Moe Aung – Zwe Yan Naing – Myat Hteik Tin – Maw Thu Da Nu – Ye Aung Myat – Nilar Tun – Myo Pya – Min Kyaw Swar – Ye Min – Maung Khine Mar – Zwe Mon – Aung Htet Lwin


Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press