Skip to main content
Shopping cart: items Cart

Distributed for University of Wales Press

The Gwent County History, Volume 2

The Age of the Marcher Lords

Gwent County History, Volume II is the second of a five-volume authoritative history of southeastern Wales and the counties of Monmouthshire and Gwent. Spanning the entire Middle Ages, as well as the historical periods of several marcher lordships—Monmouth, Abergaveny, Chepstow, Newport and the rest
—this volume deals with the landscape, politics, government, castles, society, towns, and economy of southeastern Wales at this time. Featuring the research of thirteen experts from a number of British universities, this modern, up-to-date exploration provides fascinating insight into the language, literature, and times of the period precluding the act of union between Wales and England.

University of Wales Press image

View all books from University of Wales Press

Table of Contents

1. The Transformation of Medieval Gwent

David Crouch

2. The Marcher Lordships: Origins, Descent and Organization

Paul Courtney

3. Settlement and Society

Jonathan Kissock

4. Masonry Castles and Castle-building

John R. Kenyon

5. The Towns

Tony Hopkins

6. Markets, Trade and Industry

Robert Weeks


The Newport Medieval Ship

J. Kate Howell and Bob Trett

7. The Parish Churches

Jeremy Knight

8. The Religious Orders

David H. Williams

9. Plague and Revolt

R.R. Davies

10. Lordship and Society in the Fifteenth Century

Ralph A. Griffiths

11. ‘Talm o Wentoedd’: The Welsh Language and its Literature, c. 1070-c.1530

Dylan Foster Evans

12. The Early Tudors

W.R.B. Robinson

13. The Pre-Reformation Church

Madeleine Gray

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press