Skip to main content
Shopping cart: items Cart

Distributed for University of Wales Press

The Collected Short Stories of Roland Mathias

Roland Mathias is one of the key figures of post-war Welsh writing in English. While his importance as a poet, editor, critic and scholar is widely recognized, his contribution to the short story genre remains unassessed, as the bulk of his stories have long been out of print.

The Collected Short Stories of Roland Mathias brings together material from The Eleven Men of Eppynt (1956), a handful of early stories that have not appeared previously in book form and three other important tales first published in magazines. These varied and highly individual stories are derived in the main from the personal experiences of the writer and of his father’s family. As well as impressing with the energy and variety of the writing and the consistent power of language and imagery, they also exemplify the overarching integrity of Mathias’s art.

The text of the stories is fully annotated, while the introduction to the volume outlines the writer’s life, sets the stories in the context of their times and offers background information identifying the origins and occasional obscurities of the texts.

198 pages | 8 2/5 x 5 2/5 | © 2001


University of Wales Press image

View all books from University of Wales Press


“Fans of Mathias’ work will delight in this collection of 22 stories. Those who have not read him before have a real treat in store.” –Western Telegraph

Western Telegraph

“ . . . written by a poet, with a wealth of imagery and in a muscular style that reflects the scholar and the man.” –Western Mail

Western Mail

“ . . . a volume of revelation and words galvanised by the sort of energy that only poets and a few special prose writers can give them . . . life-enriching tales of pig-killing and schoolboy trickery, of ways of life now run into the shadows of the past, from a writer who has given us more than most.” –New Welsh Review

New Welsh Review

“. . . one for the connoisseur.” –Planet


Table of Contents

Editorial Note
1    Saturday Night
2    A Duty to the Community
3    Jonesy and the Duke
4    The Roses of Tretower
5    Joking with Arthur
6    Take Hold on Hell
7    Incident in Majorca
8    One Bell Tolling
9    Cassie Thomas
10  Block-System
11  Digression into Miracle
12  The Rhine Tugs
13  The Neutral Shore
14  A Night for the Curing
15  The Palace
16  The Eleven Men of Eppynt
17  Agger Makes Christmas
18  Ffynnon Fawr
19  Match
20  The Only Road Open
21  A View of the Estuary
22  Siams

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press