Skip to main content
Shopping cart: items Cart

The Diviners

In The Diviners, Morag Gunn, a middle aged writer who lives in a farmhouse on the Canadian prairie, struggles to understand the loneliness of her eighteen-year-old daughter. With unusual wit and depth, Morag recognizes that she needs solitude and work as much as she needs the love of her family. With an afterword by Margaret Atwood.

"Mrs. Laurence’s [novel] is both poetic and muscular, and her heroine is certainly one of the more humane, unglorified, unpolemical, believable women to have appeared in recent fiction."—The New Yorker

397 pages | 5-1/4 x 8 | © 1974

Phoenix Fiction


Table of Contents

I. River of Now and Then
II. The Nuisance Grounds
III. Halls of Sion
IV. Rites of Passage
V. The Diviners

Be the first to know

Get the latest updates on new releases, special offers, and media highlights when you subscribe to our email lists!

Sign up here for updates about the Press