Princesses of Wales

Deborah Fisher

Deborah Fisher

Distributed for University of Wales Press

© 2005
Paper $5.00 ISBN: 9780708319369 Published August 2005 For sale in North and South America, Australia, and New Zealand only
The title "Princess of Wales" has enjoyed a high profile in recent years, and the events of 2005 placed it once again in the spotlight. Yet until now we have lacked any published overview of the history of the title and the lives of the women who have held it.
Deborah Fisher looks back to the Norman conquest of Wales, and earlier, to describe the princess's changing role, bringing the picture comletely up to date and speculating on future developments.
Incorporating material from a variety of sources, she unravels a history that includes love, duty and motherhood along with adulterous passion, divorce and tragic death--a history that often repeats itself.
Some Interesting Statistics
Part I. Before the Conquest
Part II. After the Conquest
     Joan of Kent (1328-1385)
     The Interlude: Margaret Hanmer (c.1370-c.1420)
     Anne Neville (1456-1485)
     Katherine of Aragon (1485-1536)
     Caroline of Ansbach (1683-1737)
     Augusta of Saxe-Gotha (1719-1772)
     Caroline of Brunswick (1768-1821)
     Alexandra of Denmark (1844-1925)
     Mary of Teck (1867-1953)
     Diana Spencer (1961-1997)
     The Future
Appendix: Princes of Wales from 1301
Select Bibliography
For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style |

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from University of Wales Press. RSS Feed